Q&A with Rohan Draft

Rohan Daft

Yesterday I had the chance to get a more in depth understanding of what it is like to work  in the new age of multimedia journalism by interviewing Rohan Daft, a journalist.   Daft, 48, was born in the town of Cheltenham, which is in western England near the city of Bristol.  He currently is in charge of managing a professional blog:  The Row|Richard James.

Q&A: 

How did you first get started in journalism?

Well, I didn’t go to University.  I just stumbled into it.  I had a friend, who I’d meet for lunch and tell her things.  I started getting these checks in the mail from the Evening Standard.  She was submitting my stories and eventually convinced me to go work there.  I started in the Londoners Diary gossip column and was there for five years. Then I became a general feature writer.

If you stumbled into journalism, what did you want to be as a child? 

I always wanted to write.  I didn’t know what, but I always liked writing.

What was it like writing a gossip column?

It was tough. You have to find your own story, you don’t follow a news agenda.  It’s more trivial, many don’t last one day.  It is not as much about your writing ability or structure, but your ability to be ruthless and find the story.

What was the pressure like? 

At the time you don’t realize but there was a lot of pressure.  It was fun and exciting, which distracted you from it.  There’s a fantastic sense of achievement involved; to see your work in print is a fantastic feeling.

Did you ever worry about offending people?
 
If the news is in the public interest, I think it is ok to offend people.  I was hit once, it’s like a badge of honor if someone hits you in the face.  But in all seriousness, I’m not a bad person.  I don’t set out to offend people, but I have a sense of mischief, which is important to have in journalism.
 
After you left the newspaper, what did you do? 
 
I became a freelance writer and moved to Spain for about 6 years.  I got commissioned to write a book about Spanish food, so I spent a year travelling around Spain eating. 
 
What’s your favorite dish? 
 
Depends where I am and on the weather.  Gazpacho with rice paella and clams if I am in Spain and it’s hot. And if I’m in a cold place, I like vodka and herring.
 
What do you think are the benefits of a professional blog?
 
A blog is immediate.  The fact that you can see something that is beautiful or hear something instantly is incredible. A professional blog allows for advertising as well as promoting your brand or products in the way you want them to be seen.  Also, it isn’t just about selling clothes, but showing your customers the type of company you are.
 
Were you interested in fashion before this job?
 
Yeah I was.  I think it is a lot easier, and the results are better, when you are writing about something you are interested in.
 
Do you get your suits from Richard James suits?
 
I can’t afford those suits.  They would give me a discount, but there is some loyalty to your tailor.  I’ve had the same tailor since age 18.  A tailor is like your doctor, they never tell others about you. They keep your secrets.
 
Do you prefer blogging or print journalism?
 
I prefer the print. It was tough, it was fantastic and taught me a hell of a lot; to know what a story is, to recognize a story. There can be stories in front of you that you miss. At Richard James they say how do you think of things everyday to put on the blog and for me it’s very easy.
This entry was posted in Fashion, Interview, Multimedia Journalism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment